Posted by : Quoting Radio New Zealand Posted on : 16-Oct-2020

Australia's government says trade and prosperity in the Pacific will thrive when the PACER Plus regional trade agreement comes into force within two months.

Last week the Cook Islands became the eighth state to ratify the agremeent triggering its formal entry into force.

A statement from the Office of the Minister for International Development, Alex Hawke, said the agreement would deliver new and enhanced trade opportunities for Australia and its Pacific partners, with benefits in farming, fisheries, business and increased investment.

The statement said the agreement will also support the region's economic recovery from the impats of Covid-19.

Australia is providing $US13.5 million to support the implementation of PACER Plus.

PACER Plus will enter into force on 13 December.

Australia, the Cook Islands, Kiribati, Niue, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga and New Zealand have now ratified. The remaining signatories yet to ratify are Nauru, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

Copyright @ 2020, Radio New Zealand

Quick Enquiry